Mother PA

The Covid-19 Pandemic turned our lives around. Malaysia went into Movement Control Order (MCO) from 18th March to 3rd May 2020, and then Conditional Movement Control Order (CMCO) from 4th May 2020 and is expected to end on 9th June 2020.

 

During the MCO, every morning like a good Personal Assistant (PA), I will remind my children that they have online meetings (which is their tuition class) scheduled that day and they have several reports (homework) due. I ensure the web cam and microphone are working, and that internet connection is good.
Also, like a good PA, I plan their meals and make sure they are nourished before their meetings and before finishing off their reports.
My children are still really young to be managing their online studies on their own. I can expect secondary school kids to do this themselves but not for the young ones and hence plenty of parents in Malaysia are doing PA work for their young children.
If this were to happen in the 1970s or even 1990s, I wonder how school is managed.

Leave a comment